skip to content
Final tournament standings were decided in Dundee and Angus today as each team faced off to confirm their position in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier, which has been held in Dundee and Angus from 31st August to 7th September. Bangladesh win the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier in Dundee with 70-run win over Thailand

USA bagged their first win of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier with a 6-wicket win over Namibia with seven balls remaining at Arbroath Cricket Club.

As has previously happened with Namibia this tournament, they got off to a nightmare start losing their first wicket (van der Merwe run-out for 0) without a run on the board.

A 44-run stand for the third wicket provided Namibia with hope of building a defendable total to claim their first win, but Akshatha Rao (1/13) had other ideas as she came back in the 10th over to remove Yasmeen Khan for 16 and induce a collapse of 5-34.

With 84/7 on the board from Namibia, USA would have fancied their chance to chase 85 and bag their first win of the tournament in the 7th place play-off fixture.

A late run of form with the bat from Nadia Gruny – recently posting the USA’s first T20i half-century with 53* against Netherlands – saw USA get off to a comfortable start as the top-order batter again contributed with a handy 33 off 54.

By the time Gruny was dismissed at the end of the 15th over with 68/3 on the board, USA needed 17 runs from 30 balls with Bhaskar (15) and Chandhrasekar (2*) at the crease in attempt at securing their first win.

Yasmeen Khan (0/4) leaked just three runs from the sixteenth and eighteenth over to cause a few nerves in the USA camp and with six runs required from 12 balls, a run-out on the first ball saw the back of Bhaskar for 15 to offer a twist in the tale.

However, Kodali (5*) and Chandhrasekar (2*) saw USA to their only victory by 6-wickets to finish 7th in the tournament.


Qualifier group stage

31 August: USA v Scotland – Lost by 30 runs 

1 September: USA v Bangladesh – Lost by 8 wickets

3 September: USA v Papua New Guinea – Lost by 22 runs (DLS)

Finals stages

5 September: Semi-Finals/5th-8th Place Play-off Semis – Lost by 9 wickets

7 September: Final/5th-8th Place Finals – Won by 6 wickets