• West dominated the 2023 SAMP Group Under 19 Women’s National Championship in Prairie View Cricket Complex, Texas.
  • The win represents the West’s fourth National Championship title among males and females for 2023.

The West Conference dominated the SAMP Group Under 19 Women’s National Championship to defeat the East Conference, 3-0.

After a washed-out day one, the best of the nation’s under 19 players took to the field on day two in cold conditions with a high of 64 degrees fahrenheit. In the first of the back-to-back matches, Ritu Singh came in the middle order to help her East Conference team get to 90 runs with a quick-fire 20 off 13 balls, including two fours and a six. West Conference’s Captain Anika Kolan held her team together with 28 off 30 balls. West’s Isani Vaghela finished with bowling figures of 4-0-8-1 and East’s Aditi Chudasama finished with similar figures of 4-0-8-1 but West came out on top with four wickets to spare.

In the second match of the day, East Conference’s Pooja Ganesh top-scored with 41 runs off 51 balls in her team’s 93-run total. West Conference’s Suhani Thadani bowled a tidy spell at an economy rate of 2.25 with zero wickets. Thadani’s teammates Laasya Mullapudi (30 off 43) and Snigdha Paul (29 off 45) made light work of the chase, helping West win by 6 wickets.

Better weather conditions on the final day contributed to both teams crossing the 100-mark. The first and only half century of the tournament was scored by eventual tournament MVP and best batter, Chetna Reddy Pagydyala. Chasing 118, East Conference’s Sasha Vallabhaneni top-scored with 20 runs off 36 with five other teammates contributing in the double-digits. West proved too strong as they closed the curtains on the tournament with a 14-run margin in the final game.

West dominated the entire event as the best bowler and best fielder awards were also won by the Pacific squad.

This under 19 women’s championship title comes as the fourth (4th) national championship for a West team this year after the under 23, under 17 and under 15 men’s national championships were also won by the West Zone.

SAMP Group is the Title Sponsor of the 2023 USA Cricket Under 19 Women’s National Championship. USA Cricket thanks SAMP Group for its partnership and support for women’s cricket in the USA.

Individual Award Winners
Tournament MVP: Chetna Reddy Pagydyala
Best Batter: Chetna Reddy Pagydyala
Best Bowler: Isani Vaghela
Best Fielder: Maahi Madhavan

See tournament scorecards here.

Email: media@usacricket.org

USA Cricket is the National Federation for cricket in the United States as recognized by the International Cricket Council. USA Cricket’s mission is to govern, regulate, develop and promote all forms of cricket at all levels in the United States, and to enable U.S. cricketers to achieve sustained competitive excellence and successfully compete in national and international competition. Through a diverse Board of Directors that has representation from most cricket stakeholder groups, USA Cricket will lead the sport to new heights by creating and administering value added programs to grow and develop the sport.