USA Women’s National Team had a brilliant week at the 2021 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Americas Qualifier in Mexico City with five wins from their six games to finish top of the table. In the first international cricket for the Women’s National team for the since September 2019, USA, Argentina, Brazil and Canada were playing off to decide the one qualifier that will advance to the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Global Qualifier in 2022.

USA Women’s Head Coach, Julia Price gave eight debut caps across the week as USA started impressively with four wins from four games including a big 10 wicket win over their North American rivals, Canada in the first of the round-robin fixtures between the neighbors.

On Sunday though, Canada reversed the form and handed USA a 7 run defeat in the first thrilling finish of the week as Geetika Kodali’s brilliant late cameo left USA just short and gave Canada a first ever Women’s T20I win over USA. Brazil too were highly impressive with two wins over Canada at the event including the stunning 1 run win on the tournament’s final day today.

However USA reasserted their class on the final day with a big 10 wicket win over Argentina to ensure they were standing alone with 10 points from the 6 games on top of the table.

The final standings at the Qualifier in Mexico.

With the tournament victory, USA will take the one qualification spot from the Americas region and go on to represent the Americas at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Global Qualifier in 2022.

It was a tournament played in magnificent spirit throughout and huge credit must go to Brazil for their second placed finish, to Canada for a strong showing including their 7 run win over Team USA and to Argentina for playing with such passion and pride throughout finishing fourth.

Team USA Women’s Squad

Sindhu Sriharsha (captain)
Shebani Bhaskar (vice-captain)
Akshatha Rao
Anika Kolan
Chetnaa Prasad
Gargi Bhogle
Geetika Kodali
Holly Charles
Isani Vaghela
Laasya Mullapudi
Moksha Chaudhary
Sara Farooq
Suhani Thadani
Tara Norris
Uzma Iftikar

The full squad and support staff at the Reforma Club.