skip to content

The ICC Women’s Qualifier Americas began today on 17 May in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, where USA and Canada will play three T20 Internationals in as many days with a huge prize at stake.

Team USA Women got off to the perfect start in the ICC Women’s Qualifier Americas 2019 as the Road to Australia 2020 and New Zealand 2021 for USA Women got underway.

An all-round bowling team bowling performance combined with a powerful innings of 47 not out from just 35 balls from the Player of the Match, Erica Rendler saw USA crown a dominant 10 wicket win to start the 3 match series in what was both nations first ever official Women’s Twenty20 International.

The ICC Women’s Qualifier Americas is acting as a dual qualifier between Team USA Women and Canada Women, firstly in their pursuit of a spot in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier – taking place in Scotland between 31 August and 7 September 2019 where the winner  will join Bangladesh, Ireland, Scotland, PNG, Thailand and Zimbabwe.

Batting first, Canada’s innings never really got going and struggled for momentum. Young Lisa Ramjit made history by becoming the first T20 international wicket-taker for USA Women and all 6 of the bowlers used did a wonderful job at restricting Canada to just 66 for 6 from their 20 overs.

USA Women then made quick work of the chase with the perfect opening partnership cruising the home side to a comprehensive 10 wicket victory. Erica Rendler in particular was devastating with 9 boundary 4’s in her innings of 47 not out and she was well supported Sugetha Kalyanaraman Chandhraseker who made 15 not out.

The two sides clash in the 2nd match of the series on Saturday 18 May at the same venue with USA knowing if they can take the win, they will seal qualification.


ICC Women’s Qualifier Americas

17 May: United States v Canada (Central Broward Regional Park, Fort Lauderdale) – USA won by 10 Wickets

18 May: United States v Canada (Central Broward Regional Park, Fort Lauderdale)

19 May: United States v Canada (Central Broward Regional Park, Fort Lauderdale)

Squad Lists:

USA: Sindhu Sriharsha (captain), Candacy Atkins, Claudine Beckford, Shebani Bhaskar, Sara Farooq, Nadia Gruny, Uzma Iftikhar, Sugetha Kalyanaraman, Mahika Kandanala, Geetika Kodali, Samantha Ramautar, Lisa Ramjit, Erica Rendler, Onika Wallerson

Canada: Mahwish Khan (captain), Hala Azmat, Habeeba Bader, Maliha Baig, Mahrukh Imtiaz, Miryam Khokhar, Chuntell Martin, Kamna Mirchandani, Monali Patel, Achini Perera, Kainat Qazi, Hiba Shamshad, Amanjit Virk, Saniyah Zia