A quite majestic century from West Indian international Jason Mohammed proved the difference between Trinidad and Tobago and the United States in Team USA’s fourth Super50 group game today in Trinidad.

Head Coach James Pamment continued to ring the changes with 4 new players coming into the team after the defeat to the Windwards,  Captain Saurabh Netravalkar returned but was frustrated as at first rain caused a significant delay after he lost the toss and was asked to bowl first.

After several hours of waiting, the conditions improved enough for a 30 Overs per-side match where USA failed to find the early breakthrough through their seam bowlers, as they have done all tournament. That was quickly remedied though as Karima Gore again took a wicket with the first ball of his spell and when Steven Taylor had Darren Bravo caught after a blast of sixes from the left-hander, USA were right on top with Trinidad at 66 for 3 in the 13th over.

The rest of the innings was all the home side however as Jason Mohammed combined first with Kyle Hope in a 78 run partnership before dominating a 100 run partnership with Odean Smith as Mohammed kicked into acceleration smashing 9 Sixes and taking the game away from USA. Karima Gore was the only bowler who escaped real punishment as it was a night to remember for Mohammad who went to his century with a 6 off the final ball of the innings.

It was a much more aggressive effort with the bat for Team USA who looked to learn their lessons from the disappointment against the Windward Islands just two days ago and Xavier Marshall and Monank Patel had USA off to a flier right from the off.

Although Monank’s dismissal was followed soon-after by Steven Taylor for a 2nd ball 1, USA kept attacking and scored runs freely throughout their innings with the partnership between Jones and Marshall a particularly fluent one.

Xavier Marshall went on to make his first 50 of the tour and there was strong partnerships throughout the innings as USA took a new attacking intent to the Trinidad bowlers to good effect.

Although the total was always going to be out of reach in the final 10 overs with the required run-rate going over 12 an over, both Elmore Hutchinson and Nisarg Patel impressed with good innings to get USA above the 200 mark with their highest run rate of the tournament so far and leave plenty of positives for USA to be pleased with after a second consecutive 43 run defeat.

That concludes the first round of group matches with USA now having played every other team in their group. They will have a rest day tomorrow before two training days before returning to action on Tuesday at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy Stadium.

Score in brief:

Trinidad & Tobago Red Force beat USA by 43 runs at Brian Lara Cricket Stadium, Trinidad

Trinidad & Tobago Red Force 244 for , 30.0 Overs (Jason Mohammed 101, Kyle Hope 47, Karima Gore 2 for 21)

USA 201 for 7, 30 Overs (Xavier Marshall 53, Nisarg Patel 31*, Elmore Hutchinson 21) 

Team USA’s schedule for the Super 50 is as follows:

November 9 USA vs West Indies Emerging Players – Lost by 6 Wickets
November 11 USA vs Guyana Jaguars – Lost by 13 runs
November 13 USA vs Windward Island Volcanoes – Lost by 43 runs
November 15 USA vs Trinidad & Tobago Red Force – Lost by 43 runs
November 19 USA vs West Indies Emerging Players
November 21 USA vs Trinidad & Tobago Red Force
November 23 USA vs Windward Island Volcanoes
November 25 USA vs Guyana Jaguars

See the full schedule by clicking here.

Team USA squad:

Saurabh Netravalkar (C – Marin 1, Northern California Cricket Association)
Steven Taylor (VC – Sheffield Cricket Club, New York Metropolitan Cricket League)
Karima Gore (Antigua)
Ian Holland (Hampshire, England)
Akshay Homraj (Galaxy Cricket Club, Eastern American Cricket Association)
Elmore Hutchinson (Caribbean CC, Southern California Cricket Association)
Aaron Jones (Atlantis Cricket Club, New York Metropolitan Cricket League)
Nosthush Kenjige (Atlantis Cricket Club, New York Metropolitan Cricket League)
Xavier Marshall (Triggers Cricket Club, Houston Cricket League)
Monank Patel (Freedom Cricket Club, Cricket League of New Jersey)
Nisarg Patel (Vijayta Cricket Club, Southern California Cricket Association)
Sagar Patel (Indian Lions, ArkTenn Cricket League)
Timil Patel (Vijayta Cricket Club, Southern California Cricket Association)
Jasdeep Singh (Smashers Cricket Club, Cricket League of New Jersey)
Cameron Stevenson (Carlton Cricket Club, Australia)
Rusty Theron (Potomac Cricket Club, Washington Cricket League)*

*Rusty Theron will join the squad from Game 5 onwards