skip to content

The best individual batting and bowling figures in the history of American One Day International cricket have guided Team USA to a hard-fought and highly impressive win over hosts UAE to put USA on top of the ICC Cricket World Cup League 2 table in Sharjah.

The hosts batted first after a delayed start due to some rain in the morning and looked in danger of getting away from USA as they looked well-set at 90 for 2 on a good batting surface at the historic Sharjah venue, a critical breakthrough from Rusty Theron though began to halt the UAE momentum.

The spin trio of Steven Taylor, Karima Gore and Nosthush Kenjige then applied the brakes to the scoring rate before Saurabh Netravalkar produced an inspired final closing spell of death bowling removing the final four Emirati wickets and claiming a maiden 5 wicket haul, not just for the captain but for any American bowler in ODI Cricket.

203 was the total but only 47 overs were available after the shortening of the game due to the earlier rain and when Patel and Taylor went in consecutive balls it left USA’s chase looked a mammoth one with the score at 4 for 2.

Enter Aaron Jones thought who at first partnered with Marshall then Holland and Homraj en route to a majestic 95, he was only denied what would have been the first USA hundred by a stunning one handed catch on the boundary. He had to settle for new USA record high innings of 95 and was a well deserved Player of the Match, just edging out Netravalkar.

USA won by 3 wickets as Karima Gore’s 26 not out got USA over the line to move top of the table and give the side confidence going into the challenge of the higher ranked Scotland tomorrow.

Team USA’s schedule in the UAE is as follows:

December 8 USA vs United Arab Emirates, Sharjah Cricket Stadium – Won by 3 wickets
December 9 USA vs Scotland, Sharjah Cricket Stadium
December 12 USA vs United Arab Emirates, ICC Academy Ground, Dubai
December 14 USA vs Scotland, ICC Academy Ground, Dubai

See the full schedule by clicking here.

Team USA squad:

Saurabh Netravalkar (C – Marin 1, Northern California Cricket Association)
Steven Taylor (VC – Sheffield Cricket Club, New York Metropolitan Cricket League)
Karima Gore (Antigua)
Ian Holland (Hampshire, England)
Akshay Homraj (Galaxy Cricket Club, Eastern American Cricket Association)
Elmore Hutchinson (Caribbean CC, Southern California Cricket Association)
Aaron Jones (Atlantis Cricket Club, New York Metropolitan Cricket League)
Nosthush Kenjige (Atlantis Cricket Club, New York Metropolitan Cricket League)
Xavier Marshall (Triggers Cricket Club, Houston Cricket League)
Monank Patel (Freedom Cricket Club, Cricket League of New Jersey)
Nisarg Patel (Vijayta Cricket Club, Southern California Cricket Association)
Timil Patel (Vijayta Cricket Club, Southern California Cricket Association)
Cameron Stevenson (Carlton Cricket Club, Australia)
Rusty Theron (Potomac Cricket Club, Washington Cricket League)