skip to content
  •  86 teams competing for 15 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 spots
  •  225 Men’s T20 Internationals to be played in qualifying across 13 months
  •  Hungary, Romania and Serbia competing in their first ICC Men’s T20 World Cup qualifying pathway
  •  ICC Men’s T20 World Cup to take place in October and November 2022 in Australia

USA Men’s National Team will need to get through a two-step process in their bid to qualify for the T20 World Cup for the first time with the journey starting with an 8 team Qualifier in Canada in July 2021. If USA can finish in the top 2 places there, they will progress to either the ‘A’ or ‘B’ of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier which will both have 2 places at Australia 2022 up for grabs.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has today announced the qualification pathway for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia which is set to take place in October and November 2022.

The 15 spots in Australia will be decided through a four-step qualifying process which starts in April 2021. 11 regional qualification tournaments across five regions have been rescheduled to 2021, due to COVID-19 and will now feed into the 2022 Australia event.

With the return of cricket in early 2021, we will see 86 different teams with the opportunity to fill the 15 World Cup spots – with hosts Australia already securing one – over a 13-month qualification campaign. For the first time ever Hungary, Romania and Serbia will be competing for Men’s T20 World Cup qualification and Finland will play host to an ICC event for the very first time. In a festival of cricket it will also be the first time that Japan will host a Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier, on the back of the U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier they will host two weeks before.

The Road to Australia 2022 Qualification Pathway.

At regional level there will be 67 Associate Members taking part. Due to the depth of strength within Africa and Europe, both regions have sub regional qualifiers feeding into a final qualifier for the region. Africa, Americas, EAP and Europe will have one top tier regional qualifier and Asia will have A and B to determine which teams will progress into the two eight-team global qualifiers.

The 16 available spots in the Global Qualifiers will be filled by one team each from the Africa and EAP Qualifier respectively. They will be joined by two teams each from the Americas and Europe qualifiers. Finally, Asia which has a Qualifier A and B will see one team from each event make up the eight spots from regional qualification.

Four teams from the two global qualifiers will join hosts Australia and the 11 automatic qualifiers from the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 to make up the 16-team Men’s T20 World Cup 2022.

In the lead up to the Australia event there will be 225 Men’s T20 Internationals scheduled to be played across 13 months, giving every team an opportunity to climb the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings.

Nosh Kenjige in the outfield as the sun sets during the Sub Regional Qualifier in 2018 in North Carolina.

ICC Head of Events, Chris Tetley said: “We are delighted to announce qualification for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia in 2022. The pathway which culminates in the eighth Men’s T20 World Cup which will be held in Australia, sees the likes of Hungary, Romania and Serbia competing for the first time in an ICC event of this format, highlighting the increased competitiveness within Associate Members. In addition, a remarkable 225 Men’s T20 Internationals are scheduled to be played providing a substantial number of playing opportunities to all Members.”

The 16 teams that had originally qualified for the 2020 Australia event will now play in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 in India. The participating teams for that event are Australia, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies.

All events are subject to COVID-19 arrangements if required at that time.

Event Host Dates
ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Asia A Qualifier Kuwait 3-9 April 2021 Bahrain, Kuwait, Maldives, Qatar, Saudi Arabia
ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Sub Regional Africa A Qualifier South Africa April 2021 Ghana, Lesotho, Malawi, Rwanda, Seychelles, Swaziland, Uganda
ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Sub Regional Africa B Qualifier South Africa April 2021 Botswana, Cameroon, Mozambique, Sierra Leone, St Helena, Tanzania
ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Sub Regional Europe A Qualifier Finland 8 – 13 July 2021 Bulgaria, Cyprus, France, Israel, Italy, Malta, Norway, Spain
ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Sub Regional Europe B Qualifier Finland 30 June – 5 July 2021 Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guernsey, Finland, Hungary, Luxembourg, Sweden
ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Sub Regional Europe C Qualifier


Belgium 5 – 10 July 2021 Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Isle of Man, Portugal, Romania, Serbia,
ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Asia B Qualifier Malaysia 3-9 July 2021 Bhutan, China, Malaysia, Myanmar, Hong Kong, Thailand
ICC Men’s T20 World Cup EAP Qualifier Japan 11-16 October 2021 Cook Islands, Fiji, Indonesia, Japan, Philippines, Samoa, South Korea, Vanuatu
ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Americas Qualifier


Canada 17 – 23 July 2021 Argentina, Bahamas, Belize, Bermuda, Canada, Cayman Islands, Panama, USA
ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier Spain 15 – 21 October 2021 Jersey, Europe Sub Regional Qualifier x3
ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa Qualifier Nigeria November 2021 Kenya, Nigeria, Africa Sub Regional Qualifier x2
ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier A TBC February 2022 Nepal, Singapore, UAE, Zimbabwe


Bottom teams from ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 x4

Africa Qualifier x1

Asia Qualifier A&B x 2

Americas Qualifiers x2

EAP Qualifier x 1

Europe Qualifiers x2


ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier B TBC May 2022
ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Australia October – 13 November 2022 Australia

Top teams from Men’s T20WC 2021 x 11

Men’s T20WC Qualifier A x2

Men’s T20WC Qualifier B x2