• USA Cricket thanks all involved with the inaugural Under 15 National Championships as West Zone are crowned as champions after a great final
  • 12 completed matches at the Prairie View Cricket Complex in Texas which saw high-scoring games and plenty of superb team & individual performances
  • Individual Awards go to leading run-scorer Amogh Arepally, leading wicket-taker Vihaan Mehta, while Amogh Arepally of the West Zone also picked was named MVP

USA Cricket wishes to thank all involved with the successful running of the inaugural Under 15 National Championships which concluded on Sunday in Texas with the West Zone taking a hard-fought win over the South Zone to be crowned as the first ever Under 15 National Champions. In total there were 12 matches across 4 game-days between the 6 teams that involved 90 young cricketers from all across America. 

On the pitch there were over 4,000 runs scored, nearly 200 wickets taken and nearly 100 catches held in a tournament that was hotly contested by all 6 Zonal teams with the turf-wickets and facilities on offer at the Prairie View Cricket Complex aiding the overall experience of a wonderful tournament for the development of these young cricketers.

The Champions were crowned on Sunday in the post-tournament ceremony where USA Cricket was pleased to welcome Prairie View City Mayor, Mr Ronald Leverett as the Guest of Honor alongside representatives of all of the tournament sponsors with CriticalRiver as the Title Sponsors, Four Oaks Insurance as the Team Uniform Sponsors and the North America Telugu Association (NATA) as the Performance Award Sponsors.

The Triggers Colts Cricket League (TCCL) were also integral to the success of the tournament with the amount of help they provided. The TCCL is a local youth cricket league in Houston, Texas and with a band of ardent volunteers and supporters of Youth Cricket, they contributed admirably with their time, resources, and most of all their presence during the tournament to support many aspects of the tournament. Audio-visual, photography, live-streaming and presentation support particularly on finals day, as well as a huge number of parents volunteering their time for the catering and logistical support. USA Cricket would like to thank Surya Saladi as well as the entire TCCL team for their help over the last several weeks.

USA Cricket Board Director, and Chair of the Development Committee Venu Pisike, commented, “USA Cricket would like to sincerely thank every one of the Players, Coaches, Managers, Umpires, Scorers, Support Staff, Volunteers and Sponsors who made this event possible. From being here in Texas for the event, it is clear there was a magnificent atmosphere and energy from all the players and teams that helped to make it such an enjoyable event. Our sincere thanks must go to the huge number of volunteers and parents who contributed so much in such a huge way and made it a memorable week of cricket.”

“We would also like to particularly thank everyone at the Prairie View Cricket Complex for providing the facility in brilliant conditions throughout the tournament. The tournament would simply not have been financially possible without the support from our tournament sponsors who we were pleased to have with us on finals day on Sunday. Our thanks again to CriticalRiver as the Title Sponsors, Four Oaks Insurance as the Team Uniform Sponsors and the North America Telugu Association (NATA) as the Performance Award Sponsors. Two of the Zonal Youth sponsors also joined us at the Championships with VOIP Office, Southwest Zonal Sponsor and Vitel Global, the Mid Atlantic Zonal Sponsor. We look forward to working with you all again in the future.”

“While there are many individuals behind this success, I personally want to name few champions Sham Chotoo (Tournament Director), Anj Balusu (Tournament Manager), Kuljit Singh (USAC Director), Surya Saladi (TCCL Chairman) for their outstanding work to make this U15 a grand success.”

Individual Award Winners

There were 3 individual awards for the U15 Championships, and with many cricketers starring, USA Cricket would like to congratulate all of the players who participated this week.

The winner of the NATA Best Batter award was: Amogh Arepally (West Zone)
The winner of the NATA Best Bowler award was: Vihaan Mehta (South West Zone)
The winner of the NATA Tournament Most Valuable Player (MVP) was: Amogh Arepally (West Zone)

Final Standings 

The 12 matches of the National Championships were well contested with the final classification matches going right to the wire for these final finishing positions.

6th Place: Midwest Zone
5th Place: East Zone
4th Place: South West Zone
3rd Place: Mid-Atlantic Zone
Runners-Up: South Zone
Champions: West Zone

For the full statistics from the tournament and to see scorecards and further details from all 12 matches, please click here with thanks to Cricclubs. 

To enjoy a gallery of some of the best photos from the tournament, please see below.  Finally, for all those who would like to contribute feedback on the event, we would be very grateful and please find the online survey link here that is already open.