The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced the September nominees for the ICC Player of the Month awards, instituted in January this year to recognise the best international performances across formats for male and female cricketers.

The nominees for September in the men’s category are, Bangladesh’s Nasun Ahmed, Nepal’s Sandeep Lamichhane and USA’s Jaskaran Malhotra. Whilst England’s Charlie Dean and her compatriot Heather Knight as well as Lizelle Lee from South Africa feature in this month’s women’s shortlist.  

An independent ICC Voting Academy* and fans around the world can now vote to decide the winners, which will be announced next week. Fans registered on are invited to cast their votes for their favourite ICC player of the month for September in both categories. 

ICC Men’s Player of the Month for September: 

Nasun Ahmed (Bangladesh)

Nasun is a rising spinner in the Bangladeshi camp. He played five T20Is against New Zealand last month, where he took eight wickets in the 3-2 series win against the kiwis. Highlighted by figures of 4-10 in the fourth match, which made him the first bowler from a full member nation to bowl two maidens in the same T20I match.

Sandeep Lamichhane (Nepal)

Sandeep has been the stand-out bowler in ICC World Cup Super League 2 last month. He played six ODIs and took 18 wickets in total with an economy rate of 3.17. Against Papa New Guinea Sandeep took, 4-35 and 6-11, followed by 4-18 against Oman. 

Jaskaran Malhotra (USA)

USA’s Jaskaran Malhotra garnered instant world recognition with his feat of six sixes in an over against Papua New Guinea in the ICC World Cup Super League 2 game, last month. Malhotra became only the fourth player to strike six sixes in an over in an international fixture, joining an exclusive club that includes some of the game’s greats.

The ICC Player of the Month Voting Process:

The three nominees for either category is shortlisted based on performances from the first to the last day of each calendar month. The shortlist is then voted on by the independent ICC Voting Academy* and fans around the world. The ICC Voting Academy comprises prominent members of the cricket fraternity including well-known journalists, former players, broadcasters, and members of the ICC Hall of Fame. The Voting Academy submit their votes by email and hold a 90 per cent share of the vote. Fans registered with the ICC vote via the ICC website, accounting for the remaining 10 per cent. Winners are announced every second Monday of the month on the ICC’s digital channels.