skip to content
  • 4 Women’s National Team Players will take part in the historic tournament that starts next week in the United Arab Emirates
  • National Team Captain, Sindhu Sriharsha will captain one of the 6 franchise sides
  • Women’s Head Coach, Julia Price will coach the same ‘Warriors’ franchise team

The United States Women’s National Team will have strong representation on show at the ground-breaking Fairbreak Invitational Women’s Cricket T20 tournament being staged in Dubai from May 1-15. The tournament will be run in conjunction with Cricket Hong Kong, the Governing body for cricket in Hong Kong. 

Four Team USA Players in Geetika Kodali, Sindhu Sriharsha, Tara Norris and Shebani Bhaskar are all taking part alongside USA Women’s Head Coach, Julia Price and Women’s Cricket Coordinator, Julie Abbott who are Coach & Manager for one of the franchises.

National Team Captain, Sriharsha will captain the Warriors franchise with some huge global stars of the Women’s game under her leadership with South Africa’s Mignon du Preez, Hayley Matthews of the West Indies, Kathryn Bryce of Scotland and Australia’s Georgia Redmayne all to call on. She will have familiar faces in the backroom staff for the team too with Julia Price the team Head Coach and Julie Abbott the team manager. Geetika Kodali and Shebani Bhaskar will both line out for the Sapphires team while Tara Norris who made her USA debut last year will play for the Barmy Army team.

As the first privately funded tournament of its type, this event marks significant progress in the development of women’s cricket. In line with their mission to progress gender equality on a global scale, FairBreak will bring together players recruited from all corners of the globe to participate in a six-team tournament.

Players from 35 countries will feature in the total of 90 players playing across the six teams. Of the total players signed for the tournament, 40 are from full member countries, while 50 are from associate countries.

The global women’s T20 Invitational tournament in 2022 from May 1st – 15th in Dubai, is organized by Fairbreak Global, the global gender equality initiative. The privately funded tournament sponsored by the USA based SDG Impact Fund is approved by International Cricket Council (ICC) and will see six teams compete in a total of 19 matches for the title, as players from across the globe (full members and associate members) will participate in the event.

Sue Strachan (President of Cricket Scotland), Julie Abbott (Women’s Cricket Co-ordinator for USA Cricket), Rene Montgomery (Hong Kong) and Saba Nasim (BEM and Chance to Shine Ambassador) have been confirmed as Team managers for the tournament. Anju Jain (India), Joanne Broadbent (Australia), Julia Price (USA Women’s Head Coach) and Lydia Greenway (England) are just some of the coaches for the franchises.

The initiative is intended to bring forth the major Gender Equality issues, which is faced by Women’s cricketers across the globe. Live-streaming and live-scoring details will be announced shortly by FairBreak Global and the tournament can be followed via their website here –